The Sorcerer's Conspectus:

A comprehensive view of Andre Norton's Witch World

by Lotsawatts

Places of Witch World ~ The Waste

The seventh region introduced in the [Witch World] series is The Waste.

Capitol: none

Government: none. Outlaws, prospectors for Quan iron and ancient artifacts from High Hallack, Winged-Ones, Thas, and more recently traders from Arvon to High Hallack travel the Waste.

Geography: The waste is a vast region, patchworked with areas of desert wasteland and lush greenery. Ancient ruins of the Old Race (and sometimes older races!) lie throughout it.

Surrounding Areas: To the east are the Dales of High Hallack. To the northeast is Arvon. To the southeast is Sorn Fen. To the far west is rumoured to be another ocean across which is the eastern shore of Escore. It is unknown how far north, south, and west the Waste extends.

Special Places:

  1. There are many ruins throughout the Waste.
  2. A forest where the Were-Riders made their home while in exile, "the lodge". (see: Year of the UnicornGryphon in Glory & Were-Wrath)
  3. The Road of Exile, an ancient road of the Old Ones Riwal & Kerovan discovered in the northern Waste. It leads to a cliff face where Kerovan discovers the crystal gryphon. (see: The Crystal Gryphon)
  4. A grove of Laran trees which produce the White Heart blossoms. (see: Zarsthor's Bane & The Warding of Witch World)
  5. The recently recovered ancient city of An-Yak, former home of Lord Zarsthor, now home to Brixia, Lord Marbon & Dwed. (See: Zarsthor's Bane)
  6. The ancient land of Varr, where Kathal, the Keep of Lord Eldor used to be. Now there is nothing but ruins. (See: Zarsthor's Bane)
  7. The White Road is an ancient highway of the Old Ones running from near the Were-Riders forest to the mountains which form the south-west border of Arvon. Like the Road of Exile, it too ends in a cliff face. (see: Gryphon in Glory)
  8. The Range of Shifting Shadows, the mountain home of the Thas. (see: Gryphon in Glory)
  9. Carfallin, a ruined keep where Joisan takes refuge. (see: Gryphon in Glory)
  10. Possibly the tiny country of Greer. (see: Were-Wrath)
  11. Vastar gate. (see: The Warding of Witch World)
  12. The court of Gweytha. (see: The Warding of Witch Worlde)
  13. A nest of Rus. (see: The Warding of Witch World)
  14. The Hold of Sassfang (a Winged One, aka Varks). (see: The Warding of Witch World)
  15. The Web Lands, where Web Riders (giant spiders who float on the wind with their webs) and giant sand worms live. (see: The Warding of Witch World)
  16. The Wing Ways, a hilly region where the tiny glider people live. (see: The Warding of Witch World)

[Return to Contents]

Formatted and Edited by Jay Watts ~ May, 2022

Copyright ~


Duplication of this collection (in whole or in part) for profit of any kind NOT permitted.

Open menu