Four from the Witch World

~ A Collection of Original Stories for the Witch World Saga

Edited by Andre Norton


Contains -

  • 01~ The Stillborn Heritage (na) by Elizabeth H. Boyer
  • 71~ Afterword (aw) by Elizabeth H. Boyer
  • 72~ Stormbirds (na) by C. J. Cherryh
  • 125~ Afterword (aw) by C. J. Cherryh
  • 126~ Rampion (na) by Meredith Ann Pierce
  • 197~ Afterword (aw) by Meredith Ann Pierce
  • 198~ Falcon Law (na) by Judith Tarr
  • 272~ Afterword (aw) by Judith Tarr
  • 273~ Biographical Notes (bg) Misc. Material


Synopsis ~

Write-up from the front flap of the 1989 dustjacket ~

Andre Norton, the bestselling grandmaster of fantasy, has commissioned four of today's most outstanding young fantasy authors to join with her in creating a quartet of short novels set in “one of fantasy's most enduring world settings," (Library Journal), her Witch World. C.J. Cherryh, Hugo Award-winning author of numerous fantasies such as her Margaine books and Merovingian Tales is one of the surest writers of rousing fantasy adventure, as her "Stormbirds" will prove to new readers; Elizabeth H. Boyer, author of authentically researched northern tales, creates a fascinating and utterly spellbinding tale of strange powers and the human bonds that sometimes shape them, in her haunting “Stillborn Heritage"; Meredith Ann Pierce. the brilliant young author of such richly inventive works as The Darkangel, and The Woman Who Loved Reindeer has woven a complex tapestry of love and hatred set in a barren seahold which is nearly bankrupt; and Judith Tarr, Crawford Award-winning author of passionately intense fantasy trilogies such as the medieval The Hound and the Falcon and the high fantasy Avaryan Rising has created a memorable new drama in her falconers-and-magic classic, “Falcon Law."
Each of these short novels is very much a part of the living Witch World tradition; each is infused with a special touch of the magic and wonder of Andre Norton's creation. Yet the authors also have imbued these tales with their own special magic, and the result is an exquisite volume of unique fantasy entertainment.


Write-up from the back of the paperback edition ~

Four Extraordinary Fantasy Adventures
Andre Norton, Grand Master of Fantasy, brings together a quartet of today’s finest fantasy talents to produce short novels of extraordinary power and beauty, set in the Witch World, her greatest fantasy creation.

Stillborn Heritage ~ by Elizabeth H. Boyer: A girl's coming of age proves a supernatural test of her strength...and of the power of love.
Stormbirds ~ by C.J. Cherryh: A soldier of the Dales, thrown together with an Estcarp witch in the bitter aftermath of war, must overcome his own hatred or be destroyed by the Hounds of Alizon.
Rampion ~ by Meredith Ann Pierce: An island girl, spurned by her noble father and orphaned by the death of her mother, is caught in a wed of sea-magic by a mysterious troubadour come from afar to settle old scores.
Falcon Law ~ by Judith Tarr: A woman and a falconer could not be the one, said the code. Yet her falcon chose her, so she lived a lie, to fulfill a great destiny.

Let these four master storytellers sweep you into the magical realm of fantasy adventure that has enthralled millions of readers…


Reviews ~

Kirkus Reviews ~ Issue: April 15th, 1989
Four long stories, that is, not people or monsters or things: sort of a companion volume to the various Tales of the Witch World collections (most recently 1988). Again, Norton s role was limited to encouraging the authors to contribute. Thus, Elizabeth H. Boyer explores some problems with an inheritance; C.J. Cherryh writes of a Dale warrior and an Estcarp witch; Meredith Anne Pierce meditates on Gates and ecology; and Judith Tarr's Javanne masquerades as one of the traditionally all-male Falconers. Harmless entertainment for dedicated fans.


Bibliography of English Editions ~

  • (1989) Published by TOR, HC, 0-312-93153-0, 978-0-312-93153-7, LCCN 88-29170, $16.95, 275pg ~ cover by Victoria Poyser ~ maps by John M. Ford {Blue Paper Boards, ISBN on Rear of Dust Jacket}
  • (1991) Published by TOR, PB, 0-812-51006-2, 978-0-812-51006-5, LCCN 88-29170, $3.95, 275pg ~ cover by Victoria Poyser ~ maps by John M. Ford - 2nd printing $5.99 2000, 3rd printing $6.99 2000


Non-English Editions ~

  • (1994) Published in Poznań, Poland; by Zysk i S-ka, 83-241-0439-0, translation by Elizabeth H. Boyer ~ cover by Steve Crisp ~ Polish title Czworo ze Świata Czarownic [Four from the world of Witches]
  • (1994) Published in Poznań, Poland; by Zysk i S-ka, 83-862-1112-1, 329pg, translation by Ewa Witecka ~ Polish title Czworo ze Świata Czarownic [Four from the world of Witches]
  • (2001) Published in Warsaw, Poland; by Amber, 83-724-5724-7 ~ translation by Ewa Witecka ~ cover by Michael Herring ~ Polish title Czworo ze Świata Czarownic [Four from the world of Witches]
  • (2003) Published in Warsaw, Poland; by Amber, 51-700-7078-0 ~ translation by Ewa Witecka ~ Polish title Czworo ze Świata Czarownic [Four from the world of Witches]


Russian Omnibus Editions ~

  • (2002) Published in Moscow, by AST and in St. Petersburg, by Terra Fantastica, 5-170-12416-3 and 5-791-10052-7, HC, 608pg ~ cover = Left and right upper drawings by G. Ruddell; lower right figure by L. Royo ~ Russian title Рогатый Венец [Horn Crown]


    • "Horn Crown" as "Horned Crown" ~ translation by N. Omelyanovich, pp. 5-223
    • "Four from the Witch World" as "Four Tales of the Witching World" ~ pp. 224-504
      • "Stillborn Heritage" by Elizabeth Boyer ~ translation by N. Omelyanovich
      • "Stormbirds" by Caroline Cherry as "Petrels" ~ translation by N. Omelyanovich
      • "Rampion" by Meredith Ann Pierce translation by N. Omelyanovich
      • "Falcon Law" by Judith Tarr as "The Falcon Law" ~ translation by N. Omelyanovich
    • History of the Witching World, pp. 505-595
    • Biographical Information, p. 596
    • Bibliography, p. 599


Ukrainian Omnibus Editions ~

  • (2019) Published in Kyiv, Ukraine by Globe, (Fanzine), HC, 722pg. ~ cover by Rodney Matthews ~ Ukrainian title Колдовской мир-7 [Sorcerer's World -7] ~ Limited to 10 copies?


    • "The Warding of Witch World" as "Guardians of the Witching World" ~ pp. 7-482
    • "Earthborne" as "Daughter of the Earth" ~ pp. 483-502
    • "Four from the Witch World" as "Four stories about the Witching world" (collection)
      • "Stillborn Heritage" by Elizabeth Boyer ~ pp. 503-556
      • "Stormbirds" by Caroline Cherry as "Petrels" pp. 557-598
      • "Rampion" by Meredith Ann Pierce ~ pp. 599-658
      • "Falcon Law" by Judith Tarr as "Law of the Falcon" ~ pp. 659-718

See Also: The Sorcerer's Conspectus entry for this title.





Open menu